This page under construction.


In addition to our production awards, we also give out Honorary and Special awards. Every year our Honorary Awards Committee accepts open submissions for nominees of our Honorary awards. Once the community has made their nominations and submissions close, a selected panel of your peers in the Off-Off-Broadway community conducts an anonymous vote to determine the nominees and a final deliberation to determine the recipients.

Do you know an artist or company you would like to nominate? Are you an artist or part of a company and would like to apply? Visit the link below to learn how to register and submit a nomination! 


The Indie Theatre Champion Award

(A brand new award specific to the Covid/Economic Crisis)

We will be giving out five Indie Theatre Champion Awards to those individuals or groups or businesses who stepped up during the pandemic and social unrest of 2020 and served the Indie theatre community members. Whether they helped the artists and theatre makers within the Indie Theatre Community or whether they are an Indie Theater artist that stepped out of their comfort zone to serve the larger populace, these folx helped make a difference during the biggest crises our world has ever encountered. We are looking for people who made impacts both big and small. From grants to purchasing some much needed groceries for others. From volunteering at hospitals to bringing soup to a homebound convalescent. Nominees can be business, individuals, or organizations.

To nominate someone, please use the form at this link: (link coming soon)

The Caffe Cino Fellowship

The Caffe Cino Fellowship Award honors the revolutionary Caffe Cino, founded by Joe Cino in 1958, which provided a home for many ground-breaking OOB/Indie playwrights, actors and directors, well before "off-off-Broadway" existed. The award is presented to an OOB/Indie theatre company that consistently produces outstanding work. This award also includes a grant to be used toward an OOB/Indie production. For the Caffe Cino Fellowship, the Committee is looking for a company with a proven track record of producing indie theatre, is dedicated to continuing to produce in the indie theatre community, and will benefit from the fellowship. This award focuses on high quality and continuous artistic productions by a company - to nominate someone for service to the Indie community, see the Ellen Stewart Award.

To nominate someone, please use the form at this link: (link coming soon)

The Ellen Stewart Award

The Ellen Stewart Award (formerly the Stewardship Award) is presented to an individual or organization demonstrating a significant contribution to the Off-Off-Broadway community through service, support, and leadership. Named after Ellen Stewart, founder and artistic director of La Mama, and a champion of OOB/Indie theatre artists for decades, the award is given to individuals or organizations that have provided leadership or services to the Off-Off-Broadway community at large. This award focuses on contributes and service to the OOB/Indie community - to nominate a company for artistic work within the Indie community, see the Caffe Cino Award; to nominate an individual for their artistic work, see the Artistic Achievement Award.

To nominate someone, please use the form at this link: (link coming soon)

The Artistic Achievement Award

The Artistic Achievement Award is given to an individual who has made a significant ARTISTIC contribution to the Off-Off-Broadway/Indie community. The nominee’s achievements, past or present, should have a current influence on our community. This award is for artistic work from an individual. To nominate a company, see the Caffe Cino Award.

To nominate someone, please use the form at this link: (link coming soon)



The Doric Wilson Independent Playwright Award

The Doric Wilson Independent Playwright Award is so named in honor of playwright Doric Wilson whose writing stood as an example of the innovation, uncompromising vision, heart, and spirit that is the Indie/OOB playwright. The award is given to a playwright of any age, whose work demonstrates the same Indie spirit. Eligible playwrights are ones who are write predominantly for indie theatre, and who are in the NYC area.

To nominate someone, please use the form at this link: (link coming soon)

The Outstanding Stage Manager Award

The Outstanding Stage Manager Award was created to honor the anchors of theatre productions: Stage Managers. First to arrive and last to leave, stage managers are the living link between artistic conception and practical implementation. This award is given to stage managers of OOB/Indie theatre productions who have been a part of a production for the vast majority of that production's timeline - from rehearsal to closing. Eligible productions range from full showcase productions to single performance events, from conventional theatres to "virtual" stages, and nominees do not need to be union. Visit the link below to register and nominate your favorite stage manager!

To nominate someone, please use the form at this link: (link coming soon)

Follow us on social media and sign up for our mailing list for updates on the 2020 season! 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • blogspot logo
  • Instagram