2018 It Award Recipeints 

New York, NY: On Monday, September 24, 2018 Innovative Theatre Foundation, the organization who for the past 14 years has been dedicated to celebrating Off-Off-Broadway, presented 26 awards and four honorary awards for outstanding achievement in theatre at the 14th Annual New York Innovative Theatre Awards Ceremony, at Centennial Memorial Theatre (120 West 14th Street, NYC).

The ceremony was hosted by trans performer and writer Becca Blackwell; directed by 2014 Doric Wilson Independent Playwright Award recipient Kevin R. Free; with script contributions by writer, director, and performer Joey Rizzolo. Presenters included Moe Angelos (The Builders Association), Beowulf Boritt (Scenic Designer), Leon Dobkowski (Costume Designer), Magie Dominic (Writer), Kit Goldstein Grant (Composer/Lyricist), Eva Kaminsky (Actress), Dorothy Lyman (Actress/Director/Producer), Charles Morey (Playwright), John Arthur Pinckard (Producer), Josh Prince (Choreographer), Everett Quinton (Actor/Director/Playwright), Charles Rice-Gonzalez (Writer), Bill Solly (Composer/Lyricist), G. Benjamin Swope (Lighting Designer), and Charles Turner (Actor).

The 2018 recipients will be awarded from a pool of nominees that include 157 individual artists, 53 different productions, and 52 different theatre companies. Nominated productions were seen on stages in Queens, Brooklyn, and Manhattan. To date, the IT Awards have honored over 2,500 artists, over 700 productions and over 650 companies.

“We have studied the birth of Off-Off-Broadway for many years and this is a great opportunity to bring together two of our favorite Indie Theatre institutions, the Caffe Cino and the NY It Awards. We could not be more humbled to be receiving an award in honor of Joe and the Caffe Cino.” ~ Ralph Lewis, Co-Artistic Director of Peculiar Works Project



Outstanding Revival of a Play
Danny and the Deep Blue Sea    
Sea Dog Theater

Outstanding Premiere Production
The Snow Queen    
Blessed Unrest in association with New Ohio Theatre

Outstanding Production of a Musical

1917-2017: Tychyna, Zhadan & the Dogs    
Yara Arts Group in association with La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club

Outstanding Performance Art Production
Soot and Spit    
Our Voices Theater in association with New Ohio Theatre and IRT Theater

Outstanding Ensemble
Astoria Performing Arts Center

Outstanding Original Full-Length Script
Eric Avilés
Where You From? What You Be About?    
Liberation Arts Collective    

Outstanding Original Short Script
Joseph Hefner
The Company Ink in association with Michael Johnson    

Outstanding Director
Mark Lewis
Danny and the Deep Blue Sea    
Sea Dog Theater    

Outstanding Choreography/Movement
Sara Brians
Astoria Performing Arts Center    

Outstanding Set Design
Maruti Evans
Precious Little Talent    
Shea Delves Productions    

Outstanding Lighting Design
Stacey Boggs
Goode Productions    

Outstanding Sound Design
Dan Bianchi & Wes Shippee
The 9th Annual H.P. Lovecraft Festival    
Radiotheatre in association with Theater At St. John's    

Outstanding Costume Design
Jennifer Jacob
Astoria Performing Arts Center    

Outstanding Innovative Design
Lisa Renkel
Outside Paducah: The Wars at Home    
Poetic Theater Productions    

Outstanding Original Music
Julian Kytasty, Serhiy Zhadan & the Dogs
1917-2017: Tychyna, Zhadan & the Dogs    
Yara Arts Group in association with La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club    

Outstanding Solo Performance
Valerie Redd
You / Emma    
Wandering Bark Theatre Company in association with IRT Theater    

Outstanding Actor in a Lead Role
Ryan McCurdy
Greencard Wedding    
Goode Productions    

Outstanding Actress in a Lead Role
Maggie Low
Chickens in the Yard    
Adjusted Realists    

Outstanding Actor in a Featured Role
Todd Ritch
The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee    
5th Floor Theatre Company    

Outstanding Actress in a Featured Role
LaDonna Burns
Astoria Performing Arts Center    


2018 Caffé Cino Fellowship Award
Peculiar Works Project

2018 Ellen Stewart Award
Fractured Atlas

2018 Artistic Achievement Award
Mia Katigbak

2018 Outstanding Stage Manager Award
Amy Marin

2018 Doric Wilson Independent Playwright Award
Gina Femia


Join the community!
Forgot your password?